Army of Occupation Medal

Army of Occupation Medal

Instituted on April 5, 1946 the Army of Occupation Medal was created in the after match of World War 2 to recognize those who had performed occupation service in either Germany or Japan.
Originally the Medal was intended only for members of the U.S. Army, but in 1948 it was also expanded to the U.S. Air Force (shortly after the service’s creation). The U.S Navy equivalent of the Army of occupation Medal is the “Navy Occupation Service Medal

Although the Medal was created in 1946 but it wasn’t untill 1947 that the First ones were distributed. The very First Army of Occupation Medal was presented to General Dwight Eisenhower. The Medal was isseud till October 2, 1990, making it on of the longest active military award of both the Second World War and the Cold War. (until the unification of Germany)
To be awarded the Army of Occupation Medal a service member was required to have performed at least 30 days consecutive days of military duty within occupied territories of former enemies.
The medal was also presented with a Campaign clasp One for the European service “GERMANY” and One for Asian service “JAPAN”, depending on the region in wich the occupation service had been performed.

In addition to the Germany clasp, “for those service members who performed 92 consecutive days of military duty during the Berlin Airlift in 1948 & 1949”. The “Berlin Airlift Device” is authorized as a device to the Army of Occupation Medal. This “device” is a gold coloured metal miniature of a Douglas C-54 cargo plane.
The Campaign clasp ”Germany” & “Japan” were worn on the full sized medal only, there was no device for the ribbon. The “Berlin Airlift” device is pinned beneath the “Germany” clasp and it is centered on the ribbon.

• Germany - May 9, 1945 to May 5, 1955
• West Berlin - May 9, 1945 to October 2, 1990
• Austria - May 9, 1945 to July 27, 1955
• Italy - May 9,1945 to September 15, 1947

• Korea - September 3, 1945 to June 29, 1949
• Japan - September 3, 1945 to April 27, 1952
The 4 main islands of Hokkaido, Honsho, Shikoku and Kyushu. And the surrounding smaller islands of the Japanese homeland, Ryukyu Islands and the Bonin Volcano Islands.

Obverse: The Remagen Bridge with the words “Army of Occupation
Reverse: Mount Fuji with a low hanging cloud over 2 Japanese boats (Junk) above a wave and beneath “1945”

American Defense Medal
American Defense Medal
American Defense Medal